Generously sponsored by Priscilla Bellairs

2019 Summer Concert #1: Shostakovich/Mozart/Dutilleux

Sold out


Rain Location

7:30 pm

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quartet in D Minor, K. 421
Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 6
Henri Dutilleux: String Quartet “Ainsi la Nuit” (Thus the Night)

Since Newburyport can’t ever seem to get enough of Shostakovich, we return this season with his sixth quartet. If  you are expecting the usual bleak fare you’ll be in for a disappointment; this is a playful work, even happy, with gentle humor and a lack of irony that shows an optimism we don’t usually associate with the depressed Russian master (…or does it?).

Mozart’s string quartet in D Minor, K. 421 is unrelentingly dramatic from the first moment to the last. Written two years before the opera Don Giovanni (about an unrepentant lothario dragged screaming into the pits of hell), this dark work is one of Mozart’s only quartets written in a minor key.

Written in 1976, Henri Dutilleux’s “Ainsi la nuit” (Thus the Night) is a beautiful, profound work and a meditation, of sorts, on the meaning of night.

Advance: $32 Adults; $16.00 Students/Youth up to 21 At the door: $35 Adults; $18 Students/Youth; Mass Culture EBT Card: $10 (Call to reserve up to 2 tickets per EBT card and show card at the door.)


get your tickets
St. Anna's Chapel

Commissioned and donated in 1863 by the Rev. William Horton, the chapel was designed by architect Rufus Sargent in the High Gothic Style, and built of Rockport granite. In 2014 the chapel was awarded recognition by the Newburyport Preservation Trust for both exterior and interior historic restoration.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: D Minor String Quartet

Dmitri Shostakovitch: String Quartet

Henri Dutilleux: String Quartet “Ainsi la Nuit”

Artistic Director & Summer Festival Artist


Summer Festival Artist


Summer Festival Artist


Summer Festival Artist


Summer Festival Artist



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)
String Quartet in D Minor, K. 421
I. Allegro moderato
II. Andante
III. Menuetto and Trio
IV. Allegretto ma non troppo

In 1785, Mozart dedicated a new set of six string quartets (including the D Minor, K.421) to his friend, colleague, and mentor, Josef Haydn. Beneath the dedication, Mozart wrote a personal note to the man who had single-handedly invented the genre:

A father who had decided to send his sons out into the great world thought it his duty to entrust them to the protection and guidance of a man who was very celebrated at the time, and who happened moreover to be his best friend. In the same way I send my six sons to you. Please, then, receive them kindly and be to them a father, guide, and friend!  I entreat you, however, to be indulgent to those faults which may have escaped a father's partial eye, and in spite of them, to continue your generous friendship towards one who so highly appreciates it.

Dedicating these to a friend instead of an aristocrat underscored the special bond shared by the men, 34 years apart in age. They first met in 1783 with Haydn the king of musical Europe and Mozart a rising star. The two immediately struck up a friendship and regularly read quartets with composers Baron Dittersdorff on first violin and Johann Vanhal on cello. Haydn played second and Mozart (like all the greatest composers) played viola. Upon attending the premiere of the new quartets with Leopold Mozart, his protégé’s father (and perhaps the first tiger-mom), Haydn told him: “before God and as an honest man I tell you that your son is the greatest composer known to me either in person or by name.”
The two saw each other for the last time in 1790 before Haydn was to depart for England. As Haydn recounted to a friend:

Prince Esterházy [Haydn's patron] granted permission for the journey but it was not right as far as Haydn's friends were concerned. They reminded him of his age (sixty years), of the discomforts of a long journey, and of many other things to shake his resolve. Mozart especially took pains to say, "Papa! You have had no training for the great world, and you speak too few languages." "Oh," replied Haydn, "my language is understood all over the world!" When Haydn fixed his departure and left on 15 December, Mozart on this day never left his friend. He dined with him, and said at the moment of parting, "We are probably saying our last farewell in this life." Tears welled from the eyes of both. Haydn was deeply moved, for he applied Mozart's words to himself, and the possibility never occurred to him that the thread of Mozart's life could be cut off by the inexorable fates within the following year.

Mozart died on 5 December, 1791; he was 35. In his condolence letter to Mozart’s wife, Constanze, a despondent Haydn offered free musical instruction to their young son. As it turns out. that son, Raimund Mozart, had been born during the composition of K.421 and when I say during the composition I mean Constanze was in labor, claiming that the recurring rising theme of the second movement alluded to her hollering in pain while Mozart studiously scribbled away on the quartet.

Matching its inception at such an emotional moment, K.421 is unrelentingly dramatic. The first movement begins almost ridiculously beautifully with a hushed sigh. The second movement is wistful followed by a third movement that begins angrily but has a delightful almost silly middle section. The last movement, a theme with variations, has a nobility punctuated in the final variation by a trumpet-like call that passes from one member of the quartet to another.

David Yang, Artistic Director

Sponsor this event!